by Kathleen Jordan

Order of General Election for Municipalities – 2022

Certification of Unopposed Candidates

Order of Cancellation

City Council Seats and Qualifications

General Information

The City of Edgewood is a General Law, Type A City with elections being held once a year on the first Monday of May. The City Council consists of a Mayor and 5 councilmembers. The Mayor and council places 2 (two) and 5 (five) are elected on even years with council places 1 (one), 3 (three) and 4 (four) being elected on odd years. Elections are held at Edgewood City Hall located at 107 NE Front St, Edgewood, TX 75117.

Current Election Information

The City of Edgewood General Election will be held on May 7, 2022. The election will include the Mayor Seat, council place 2 (two) and council place 5 (five). The deadline to file for a place on the ballot of the 2022 General Election is February 18, 2022 at 5:00 PM. You may pick up candidate packets from the City Secretary at 107 NE Front St, Edgewood, TX 75117 starting January 19, 2022 at 8:00 AM.


  • Must be 18 years of age or older on the first day of term.
  • Must be a registered voter for the City of Edgewood (inside City Limits) by the filing deadline.
  • Mayor –  Must have been a resident in state 1 year preceding the filing deadline; 1 year in city prior to the election.
  • Council Member – Must have been a resident in state 1 year preceding the filing deadline; 6 months in the city prior to the filing deadline.
  • Must NOT have been finally convicted of a felony (unless pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities.
Currently in OfficePlace HeldTerm Expires
Stevan SteadhamMayor2022
Jack PendletonCouncil Place 12023
Inez GoggansCouncil Place 22022
Keith RogersCouncil Place 32023
Ruby SmithCouncil Place 42023
Louis DunnCouncil Place 52022

To register to vote, please contact the Van Zandt County Clerk (903) 567-6503 on the second floor of the Van Zandt County Courthouse in Canton or you may also visit VoteTexas.gov to register online.

For important dates during the May 7, 2022 general election, you can visit the Texas Secretary of State website or click here.